The 'L'

Chicago Transit Board

About the Chicago Transit Board

The governing arm of the CTA is the Chicago Transit Board. The Board consists of seven members, with four appointed by the Mayor of Chicago and three appointed by the Governor of Illinois. 

The Mayor's appointees are subject to the approval of the Governor and the Chicago City Council; the Governor's appointees are subject to the approval of the Mayor and the Illinois State Senate. CTA's day-to-day operations are directed by Dorval R. Carter, Jr., President.

The current Mayoral appointees are Lester L. Barclay, Michele A. Lee and Roberto Requejo. The current gubernatorial appointees are Rev. Dr. L. Bernard Jakes, Neema Jha and Rosa Y. Ortiz.

Lester L. Barclay serves as Chairman of the Chicago Transit Board.

Board Meetings

The Chicago Transit Board meets monthly at the principal offices of the Chicago Transit Authority, 567 W. Lake Street, Second Floor Boardroom, Chicago, Illinois. Board meetings are open to the public. The meetings are also live streamed and can be accessed at

Board meetings usually take place at 10:00 am and are usually preceded by committee meetings. (See detailed calendar below.)

The separate committees include Human Resources, Strategic Planning, Capital Construction Oversight, and the Finance, Audit & Budget Committee.

For complete regular and special Board meeting notices, agendas, an exact schedule of committee meetings and special meetings see Meeting Notices, Agendas and Minutes as meeting dates approach, or contact us at (312) 681-5022 or

information:  AccessibleThese facilities are accessible to people with disabilities.

Regular Chicago Transit Board Meeting dates

Regular board meetings for the year 2024 are scheduled on the following dates:

  • THURSDAY, JANUARY 18, 2024** (notice of change of date)
  • WEDNESDAY, MARCH 13, 2024
  • WEDNESDAY, APRIL 10, 2024
  • WEDNESDAY, MAY 8, 2024
  • TUESDAY, JUNE 25, 2024 (notice of change of date)
  • WEDNESDAY, JULY 17, 2024*
  • WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 14, 2024

*Per Resolution R023-6
** Per Resolution R024-1

Also, see Meeting Notices, Agendas & Minutes for additional details.

Public comment at Board Meetings

The public is welcome to make comments at public meetings, including meetings of the Chicago Transit Board. To make comments, you'll need to follow our comment process (including filling out a short form before the meeting). See this information to learn more about our Public Comment Process.

Live streaming of board meetings

You can watch board meetings online as they are happening or review video from prior meetings on our Board Video page.

Reaching the Board

Direct correspondence for the Chicago Transit Board or its members to:

Office of the Secretary
CTA Headquarters
567 W. Lake Street
Chicago, IL 60661

Tel: 1-312-681-5022
Fax: 1-312-681-5035

See also

System status snapshot
‘L’ route status
Red Line
Normal Service
Blue Line
Normal Service
Brown Line
Normal Service
Green Line
Normal Service
Orange Line
Normal Service
Pink Line
Normal Service
Purple Line
Normal Service
Yellow Line
Normal Service
Bus routes w/alerts
Elevator alerts